Matthews got twice; Norris at headquarters

Tonight was the Stanley Cup Final, but it was the NHL’s chance to announce the winners of the Hart, Calder, Norris, Vesina and Ted Lindsey awards.

Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews was the biggest winner of the evening, being named Player of the Year last season as well as being named the league’s Most Valuable Player according to his peers.

In the hunt for the Hart Cup, an honor determined by the Professional Hockey Journalists Association, Matthews received 119 first-place votes and 49 second-place votes, for a total of 1,630 points.

He beat Conor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers, who got 1,111 points thanks to 29 votes from the first-placed, and New York Rangers goalkeeper Igor Shesterkin (738 points).

“I can’t lie, it feels really good. (…) It’s really special,” Matthews commented, though he admitted that he received the honors in Tampa, where he faces two-time champions Lightning and the Colorado Avalanche in Game Four of the Stanley Cup Final. On Wednesday, he evoked bittersweet feelings. »

“There is a bit of a mess, we would like to keep playing,” he added.

Matthews, who also won the Maurice Richard Cup as the NHL’s top scorer with 60 goals in 2021-22, is the third player in Maple Leafs history to win the Hart Cup, and the first since Ted Kennedy, at the end of the 1954–1955 season.

Additionally, Matthews became the first ever Maple Leafs player to receive the Ted Lindsay Trophy, an honor voted on by members of the Players Association. The other finalists were Roman Josie and McDavid of the Nashville Predators.

As a result, Matthews became the 15th player in NHL history to score a Hart-Lindsay double, a feat that McDavid remarkably accomplished last season. The double-winners also include Guy LaFleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Martin St. Louis, Sidney Crosby and Alexander Ovechkin.

In 73 games, Matthews achieved his personal career high with his team of 60 goals, as well as 46 assists and 106 points.

Unsurprisingly, Shesterkin wins in Vézina

Nevertheless, Shesterkin won the Vezina Cup, which was awarded to the goalkeeper considered the best in his position, according to the general managers of the National Hockey League.

Chesterkin reached this honor for the first time in his career, and is the third color holder in Rangers history to receive this award, according to selection criteria established in 1981-82, after Henrik Lundqvist, in 2011-2012, and John Vanbisbruck, 1985-86.

Shesterkin emerged as a near-unanimous choice, receiving 29 of 32 votes for first place. He placed second on three other ballots, with a combined total of 154 points.

Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames came second in the vote with 53 points, ahead of Joss Sarros (32 points) of the Nashville Predators.

Meanwhile, the other three first-place votes went to Frederic Andersen of the Carolina Hurricanes, Andrei Vasilevsky of Tampa Bay Lightning, and Ilya Sorokin of New Yorkers. These three porters ranked fourth, fifth, and sixth, respectively.

Shesterkin led the National Hockey League with a 2.07 goal-to-average and 0.935 save percentage, helping the Rangers (52-24-6) to 110 points, a good third place in NHL organization history.

Shesterkin finished the season with a record 36-13-4 and six lockouts in 52 games.

Best Headquarters Defender

Cale Makar is going through an extraordinary year. Currently in the Stanley Cup Final with the Colorado Avalanche, he was just named the best defender in the NHL. This is the first time in history that an Avs player has received this honor.

Makar has 28 goals and 58 assists in 77 games in 2021-22, only his fourth season in the National Hockey League.

The 23-year-old has 26 points in 17 games since the start of the playoffs and still has time to build his stats.

He was battling Nashville Predators’ veteran Roman Josie, who led all of the Blue Line’s players with an astonishing 96 points, including 23 goals and 73 assists in 80 games. The 32-year-old won his first Norris Cup in two years.

Tampa Bay Lightning defender Victor Hedman, winner of the Norris Trophy in 2018, has scored 20 goals and 65 assists in 82 games.

With close polling, Makar received 1,631 points, 25 more than Josie, although the latter received more first-place votes (98 versus 92). Hedman finished third with 940 points.

The difference in score comes from second place votes, with Makar beating Josie 98-76. The journalists had to select five players in their ballot and the points were distributed as follows: 10-7-5-3-1.

Seider Rookie of the Year, ranked 9th Caufield

Detroit Red Wings Defenseman Moritz Cedar was named Rookie of the Year, winning the Calder Award.

The player who made his National Hockey League debut this season has scored 7 goals and 43 assists in 82 games. That points total was only surpassed by two other junior defense sponsors in the past 30 years, Queen Hughes, with 53 points in 2019-20 with the Vancouver Canucks, and Vladimir Malakhov, with 52 points in 1992-93. .

The German was selected sixth overall in the 2019 NHL Draft by the Red Wings. He is the sixth player in the history of the organization to receive such an honor. He largely dominated the poll, with 1,853 points, thanks in part to his 170 first-place vote.

Other finalists include 26-year-old Maple Leafs forward Michael Banting, who was still considered a rookie this season, despite spending time with the Arizona Coyotes in each of the previous two seasons. That experience may have helped him lead Ponting’s All-Rookie with 63 points in 79 games, including 23 goals and 40 assists.

Anaheim Dicks sophomore Trevor Zegras finished third. The man who has grabbed headlines multiple times this season with Michigan-style goals from behind the net, has 23 goals and 38 assists in 75 games.

Lucas Raymond of the Detroit Red Wings finished fourth, while Montreal Canadiens forward Cole Caufield scored 31 points to finish ninth.

Here are the other individual honors awarded in the NHL for the recent campaign:

Marc Messier Leadership Cup: Anzi CopetarLos Angeles Kings
Jack Adams Cup: Daryl SutterCalgary Flames
Bill Masterton Cup: Carry priceMontreal Canadiens
Silk Cup: Patrice BergeronBoston Bruins
Lady Bing Cup: Kyle ConnorWinnipeg Jets
King Clancy’s Cup: bk suban, New Jersey Devils
Willie Urey Award: Noel Acton

Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award: Finalists are Julian Presboa (Lightning), Joe Sakic (Avalanche) and Chris Drury (Rangers). The award will be delivered on July 7.

#Matthews #Norris #headquarters

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.